Tuesday, February 26, 2008


KUCHING, Feb 26 (Bernama) -- Barisan Nasional's (BN) Datuk Wahab Dolah has won the Igan parliamentary seat uncontested after his sole opponent, independent candidate Junak Jawik, 56, withdrew today.

Returning officer James Chas Gerok told Bernama Junak withdrew at 12.45pm via a signed letter addressed to the Igan returning officer with a copy faxed to the Election Commission headquarters.

Junak said he was not forced to withdraw by anyone and did so voluntarily to ensure progress and development for Igan.

"After some thought, I came to the conclusion that I could not win against BN. I want to see more development here," he said.

With the withdrawal, Junak lost his deposit of RM10,000 while the RM5,000 for the poster permit would be returned to him.

Sarawak BN won four parliamentary seats -- Tanjung Manis, Selangau, Kapit and Kanowit -- uncontested on nomination day.

In the 2004 general election, Wahab won the Kuala Rajang parliamentary seat, now renamed Tanjung Manis, uncontested.

No comments: